World Solar Challenge begins in Australia


The 2017 World Solar Challenge has started in northern Australian city of Darwin, with participation of 42 solar cars, competing in a 3,000 kilometers (1864 miles) long route, and racing at an average speed of 90-100 kilometers per hour (55-62 mph).

This is the 30th year the race is held.

While the cars are allowed to store small amounts of energy from other sources, renewable solar energy should be the main power source. The race is held between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. each day, through some of the driest regions in the world.

The record set so far is by Japan’s Tokai University, whose solar car finished the race in only 29 hours and 49 minutes.

Teams from more than 40 countries, including the United States, Japan, Germany, Chile, the Netherlands, United Kingdom, Malaysia, Belgium, Sweden, Iran, South Korea, India, Hong Kong, South Africa, Poland, Thailand, Turkey, Canada, Taiwan and Australia, are participating in the race.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here